Small Business Group Names Proos Legislator of the Year


Andrew Green Reporting

June 30, 2010

More endorsements this week in a number of Southwest Michigan political races. On Wednesday, it was announced that the Small Business Association of Michigan is backing State Representative Tonya Schuitmaker in the primary race for the 20th State Senate seat. Rob Fowler, President and CEO of the Small Business Association of Michigan, said that Schuitmaker “understands the problems and challenges that entrepreneurs face.” The SBAM is also endorsing Al Pscholka in the GOP primary for State House in the 79th District. Meanwhile, The Michigan Farm Bureau endorsed State Representative Sharon Tyler in the race for the 78th District State House seat. The Republican Tyler is serving her first term in the Michigan House of Representatives as the minority vice-chair of the House Agriculture Committee, and she’s up for re-election in November. Additionally this week, the Small Business Association of Michigan named State Representative John Proos its Legislator of the Year for 2010. According to SBAM, the Legislator of the Year award is presented to the state or federal lawmaker who has shown the most support for small business. Proos said that the award was an honor. He’s currently running in the Republican primary for the 21st District State Senate seat.